Honorific Fellowships

Harold W. Dodds Fellowships.
Established in 1957 by an anonymous donor to provide a fellowship fund from which one or more fellowships, unrestricted as to field of study or other qualifications, will be awarded. These fellowships are equivalent in both size and honor to Procter Fellowships. The income from the fund will provide both stipends and tuition.

Porter Ogden Jacobus Fellowship.
Established in 1905 by the generosity of Mrs. Clara Cooley Jacobus. These fellowships will be conferred upon regularly enrolled students of the Graduate School who, in the judgment of the University faculty, shall have evinced the highest scholarly excellence in graduate work during the year. The fellowships are awarded on the basis of a general judgment of the total ability, attainments, and personality of the candidates considered for appointment and not on the basis of any limited or specific test.

George Van Ness Lothrop Fellowships in Engineering.
Founded in 1970 by a bequest of Marion Lewis Lothrop, widow of George B. Lothrop, A.B. 1908 and E.E. 1910. These fellowships, like the Wallace Fellowships, are the highest awards conferrable in the School of Engineering and Applied Science and are equivalent in both size and honor to the Procter Fellowships. They provide a stipend plus full tuition and are open to terminal-year students only.

Charlotte Elizabeth Procter Fellowships.
Established in 1912 in memory of Charlotte Elizabeth Procter by her son. The income provides tuition and a top stipend to a student in the humanities or social sciences.

Wallace Memorial Fellowships in Engineering.
Founded in 1930 by the bequest of Bonnie Wallace LeClear, and reconstituted in 1963 as the highest awards conferrable in the School of Engineering and Applied Science, these fellowships are equivalent in honor to Procter Fellowships. Appointment is made by vote of the Faculty Committee on the Graduate School on nomination by the dean of the Graduate School.

Mrs. Giles Whiting Foundation Honorific Fellowships in the Humanities.
Whiting Fellowships are awarded each spring to the very best scholars among all the humanities departments in recognition of outstanding performance and professional promise. The Committee on Humanistic Studies of the Council of the Humanities reviews nominations and makes its recommendations to the dean of the Graduate School. Whiting Fellowships are reserved for students writing dissertations who will be in their final year of enrollment during tenure of the award.